Spring Rolls Delivered

Today is a good day. It’s UNC’s University Day (Happy 217th Birthday!) and most of my classes were cancelled. Of course, the one at 8 AM wasn’t, but that gave me motivation to go to the gym for a good, non-excuses workout! It felt great! And later I am, of course, going to go on my all-too-frequent excursion to Whole Foods/TJ’s.

Yesterday I promised you the recipe of my spring rolls. Here it is!

Ingredients:

30 grams cauliflower

15 grams pea pods (I used sugar snap peas)

30 grams leek onions

30 grams cabbage

40 grams oyster mushrooms

30 grams mungo beans, sprouted (I was very liberal with these because I think they give a great taste)

16 grams sesame seeds

dough for spring rolls (I have not mastered the art of making these, but you can buy them pretty much at any supermarket in the Asian section.)

sesame oil, curry, ginger, soy sauce, cumin, shredded carrots- I usually do these kind of how I feel at that moment. Everyone likes more of one spice or less or another, so I suggest experimenting! You can also use the sesame oil to put on the dough once you wrap them but before you put them in the oven because it makes them nice and crunchy. But that is up to you.

Method:

Chop and slice all the vegetables. The smaller pieces the better, since they will then fit into your dough better later.

Gently fry the vegetables in the sesame oil and season everything with curry, soy sauce, salt, and ginger. This takes a while. The vegetables should become soft, yet still have a slight crunch to them.

Roast sesame seeds and at them to the mixture.

Once the vegetables are done, let them cool. This also takes a while. Use this time to wash dishes, clean the kitchen, go on a walk, call your friends and tell them what a wonderful cook you are. Also, pre-heat your oven to about 350 degrees.

Once the vegetables have cooled, put them on the dough and roll! (You can cheat like me and look at the picture on the package that the rolls come in and it gives you tips on how to roll them so that they stay together! Adding a dab of sesame oil on the areas where the dough meets helps it stay together in the oven.

Bake in oven for 20-15 mintues or until golden brown! And remember, the more you season them, the tastier they are! Enjoy!

2 responses to “Spring Rolls Delivered

  1. So glad you’re back! These are the famous spring rolls? I’m impressed!! I also wanted to squeeze in a TJ/WF run but not sure if it’ll happen. Love youu!

  2. Thoughts:
    -We need to be roomies so you can cook me all your delicious recipes!
    -You should do a jersey shore post.
    -and I love you!
    p.s. so glad your blog is back vickster!

Leave a Reply

