Nuernberg Weekend Recap part deux

Okay, now for the food part of my weekend! If you go to Nuernberg you must try the Nuernberg Sausages from yesterday’s post! Very tasty! And small, too, so you don’t get too full! And beer. Ohmygoodness. I had lot’s of beer. Once I even had beer at 11:30 in the morning. But I didn’t feel bad becuase every other table to Germans had beer too. Welcome to Southern Germany. But it was hot, and I needed a refreshing cold wonderful beer to cool me down!

This market was truly crazy. When we walked by, they were all yelling “Half price, half price! All fruit half price!” I have never seen people at a fruit market go that crazy!! Naturally, my dad and I bought some apricots and cherries because we couldn’t just walk by and not get anything!!

Doesn’t this papaya look absolutely delisshhh?

My dad!

My dinner on Friday: Salad with olives, tuna, onions, rucola, tomatoes, cucumbers, and an egg. Full load!

My dad had Carpaccio and a tomato and mozarella salad. The resteraunt was called Vapiano. It is an Italian restaurant chain in Germany (I actually think that there may be some in the US), but you wouldn’t know it’s a chain! They make all of the food right in front of you!

Breakfast Saturday and Sunday (I had the same thing except that I only had the cheese bread on the second day)

Needless to say, after a hearty breakfast like that, no lunch was needed! I always forget how much I love scrambled ggs!

Dinner Saturday: Italian, again. Germans love Italian food, so there are lots of really good and not so expensive Italian restaurants all over the place. My dad and I shared appetizers so that we could taste more than one! I rolled back to the hotel after this dinner.

(the above are supposed to be small shrimp incase you can’t recognize it!)

Yes, you counted right. We shared three appetizers. And then, all of a sudden they come out with a salad!! Apparently it came with the fish, but because the fish was a special that day it hadn’t said it anywhere! I couldn’t finish mine, but my Dad finished it for me, so no waisting food happening in our vicinity!

And then the main dish: Fish! In German it is called a Dorade. I have no idea what it is in English… oops!

I was very proud of myself for taking out all the bones so well!

Look at all of the different types of pasta they had!! Crazy!!! And the menu was also cool because it explained where the dishes etc came from! Clever idea!

Yes, I was FULL. No dessert necessary!

And during dinner, what else did we do but watch the Germany-Uruguay game for third place! Germany one! Wooo!

German Goal!!

Trainer Jogi Loewe hugging his players!

Getting their bronze medal!!

Team Pic!

And one last pic of what a wonderful team they are!

I swear, that was the last little bit of world cup news you are getting from me!!

I am very very ashamed to admit, however, that I did have some sugar this weekend 😦 Before I remembered my goal, I ordered a Radler, which is beer mixed with sprite, and had orange juice (not freshly pressed) at breakfast. Fail. But at least I enjoyed it and food-wise I am still going strong! And now that I am back in Berlin, I know I will last for the rest of the time! But it was a very unfortunate moment when I realized what I had done.

Also, today I bought my last jar of white almond butter. It was an embarrassing process because when I was checking out the woman at the cash register said “Oh, so you’re the girl who always buys the almond butter.” I had never seen her before in my life!

Okay, I’m going to go live up my last week in Berlin!!

7 responses to “Nuernberg Weekend Recap part deux

  1. Don’t be ashamed for eating sugar! That doesn’t mean you failed. I’m very impressed that you’re sticking with it. I’m addicted to sugar and wouldn’t have lasted half as long as you! =)

    That farmer’s market looks intense. 😀 I’d probably buy everything I could and leave broke. Heh.

  2. Sounds like you had so much fun! Your dad is too cute!! And I’ve never heard of a beer mixed with Sprite…I may have to try this!

  3. Hey, that doesn’t mean you failed! You just forgot! 🙂 No harm done

    LOTS of good eats + a creepy encounter at the grocery store = good weekend in my book.

  4. Monique@She's Going The Distance

    I think you should be proud of yourself for only having a LITTLE sugar last week. I can’t even cut out any added sugar on a daily basis hahaha!

  5. carascravings

    That fruit stand looks amazing! I would want to buy everything.

  6. I’m sure the beer and sprite was totally worth the sugar! I wish I was there to go on all these fun adventures with you… but ONE MONTH and we shall be reunited!!!

  7. I love crazy markets like this one…they make for such a great time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

