Day 1: Success!

I did it! No sweets! No juice, no chocolate, no cake—nada, nothing, nix, niente!! The first day is apparently always the hardest (I was very tempted to eat a crepe with nutella) but today wasn’t too hard, so let’s hope that it stays that way!

For breakfast I had two peaches! It was perfect to satisfy by sweet tooth for breakfast because they were ripe and sweet!

I went to class and for lunch I had this delicious multigrain “broetchen” with lettuce, a piece of emmentaler cheese, and a delicious fig-mustard. I even asked to make sure that the fig-mustard didn’t have any sugar, other than from the fig!  I made an iced coffee and got studying, and, surprise surprise, I actually did! I think it’s this whole no sugar motivation!

I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted for dinner. I was tempted to be lazy and order indian, but I decided that I wanted to cook, mostly so that I could listen to the Glee soundtrack.

No judging!

Are there any other Gleeks out there?

So while watching Gilmore Girls in German, I found a delicious mango-chicken-curry recipe! I had to leave out a few of the ingredients, but it ended up working! Here is the recipe:

  • 3 Tbsp (or more) of vegetable oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped (1 1/2 to 2 cups)
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 Tbsp fresh minced ginger
  • 2 Tbsp yellow curry powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 2 mangos, peeled and diced
  • 2 Tbsp cider vinegar or white vinegar
  • 1 1/4 cup water
  • 1 1/4 pounds skinless boneless chicken thighs or breasts, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/3 cup golden raisins
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream (can substitute all or partially with coconut milk)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Cilantro for garnish

I didn’t have vinegar or cumin, but I did use a little bit of tumeric and chinese fish sauce. It worked, but I would suggest the normal recipe! Also, I left out the raisins because I’m not a fan, and I used reduced fat coconut milk and not heavy cream.

How to cook!

1 Heat 2 Tbsp oil in a large sauté pan over medium heat. Add onions and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft, about 5 minutes. Add the red bell pepper and another tablespoon of oil, cook for a couple more minutes. Add the curry powder and cumin, cook for a few more minutes. Add the ginger and garlic, cook for one minute more.

2 Add the vinegar, water, and a 1/2 of the chopped mango to the pan. Increase the heat and bring to a boil, then lower the heat to maintain a low simmer for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove pan from heat. Scoop the sauce into a blender. Purée the sauce, pulsing until smooth. Return the sauce to the pan. (I don’t have a puree stick or a mixer, so I just attempted to mush the mango a little bit with my fork, and other than that I left it, and it still tasted wonderful!)

3 Add chicken pieces (and raisins) to the pan. Return to a low simmer. Cover the pan and let cook for 8-10 minutes. Chicken should be just cooked through. I would just cut into a piece of chicken to make sure it’s done!

4 Add remaining mango pieces to the pan. Stir in the coconut milk (or cream). Let cook at a very low temperature for another minute or two, uncovered. Adjust seasonings. If a little too sweet, add a little more vinegar. If not sweet enough, you can add a dash of sugar. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Serve over rice. Garnish with cilantro. Serves 4.

Ta da!I had no rice or cilantro, so I just ate it as it was, and it was really good! Next time I may put in more mango though, because all of those spices kind of took some of the flavor. But I definitely recommend this! And for dessert I had an Allos bar, because guess what?! They are made up of just honey and hazelnuts, so I’m allowed to eat them!

Also, today when I looked at my blog, I was so excited because the wonderful Sarah at Baking Serendipity awarded my blog with its first award! The Sunshine Award! I should have known this was going to be a good day!

So now it is my turn to pass it on to twelve of my favorite blogs! (These are in no particular order!)

1) Cara Craves… – for living such a cool life in South Korea and sharing her interesting stories and recipes!

2) Hungry Meets Healthy: for being my left handed, right footed twin!

3) Live Life, Eat Right – For the wonderful inspirations she had last week and for inspiring me!

4) Beck on the Run – Not only is it her birthday, but her exercise routine is one that I should follow! 10 miles!!

5) Itzy’s Kitchen – She teaches Body Pump, Body Step, and Body Attack. Need I say more?!

6) She’s Going The Distance – Such a great blog, and one of the first ones I started reading regularly!

7) My Fancy Tuna – A fellow college student! I love the way she writes her blog!

8 ) Good Eats Girl – for wonderful recipes and constant positivity!

9) Fired N Fabulous! – Have you read her blog? So good and funny!

10) Eat, Live, Run – Let’s be honest. Is there anyone who doesn’t love Jenna’s blog?

11) The Art of Kaztronomy – for being one of my first commenters!

12)The Oatmeal Diaries – for being one of my best friends and my inspiration to start blogging after I read her blog daily! (Megan, I know you already got the award, but since you were my inspiration, I thought it was only appropriate 🙂 Love you!)

Thanks again to Sarah!! And thank you to you all to making the Blogging World so interesting! To continue the trend, if you received an award here, choose 12 recipients, mention them and link to their blogs, as well as mine, in a post. Then, leave a comment on each of the blogs you pass the award onto.

Time to study? Or finish watching the Uruguay vs Netherlands game? I think it will be that latter…

12 responses to “Day 1: Success!

  1. you are so strong! i can’t go a day without sweets. ok, maybe….thanks for the award!!

  2. Well hot dog! You’re totally making me blush…thanks so much for the shout! Awesome job on the no sweets–better you than me 😉

  3. Wow, thanks for the award! 🙂 I love your blog as well!

    Gilmore Girls in German? That sounds INTENSE….I mean, their hilarious banter is hard enough to understand in English sometimes…kudos to you!

    Great looking dinner as well 😀

  4. So I guess you have a goal of no sweets? I know I could do it, but I’m not sure I’d ever want to! 🙂

    Good job 🙂

  5. carascravings

    Thanks, that’s very sweet of you 🙂

  6. Yay for day 1! And I LOVE Glee! My boyfriend bought the soundtracks and we listen to them in the car sometimes.

  7. awww- thank you for the award- you are so sweet 🙂 Glad you did well on your first day. I am not sure I could out all the sweets….I like a little sugar ;). The mango dish looks fabulous. Mango is surprisingly versatile! Hope you have a great evening

  8. Thank you for the award! I’m beaming right now, I’m so flattered! 😀

    Congrats on surviving day one! You can do this!

  9. You made chicken curry and didn’t invite me over!! You better pay attention cause I’m reading your fantastic blog now. See you tonight- GO GERMANY!!! Spanien zuruck nach Hause schicken!

  10. Aww Vicky you are too cute! Thank you for ze award. Your posts always make me SMILE! And umm can you cook for me soon? Mango chicken and curry chicken and beer + sprite?! =D

  11. I’m a new Gleek! I love that they are re-airing all the first episodes… I jumped on the bandwagon late and am having a blast catching up on the back story 🙂

  12. You are so strong! Props to you! I absolutely LOVE Glee!

    xo

Leave a Reply

