New Goal

I have a new goal! Since I have somewhat failed at being a good foodie lately, and since it’s hard for me to buy  a lot of food now since I am leaving Berlin so soon, I have a perfect goal for that time span. No more artificial sweets!

This is going to be hard! I love my sweets!! Not to mention German cakes!!

No juice (unless it’s freshly pressed which means no more multivitamin juice! AHH!), chocolate, sauces with sweetener, flavored iced coffee, etc etc. Honey, algarve nectar, and sugar in fruits (aka natural sugars) are okay. I really hope I can do it! Once again I was inspired by my mom! She is so healthy because she wants to make sure that the cancer doesn’t come back, and cancer thrives on sugar. While things like peaches and raspberries have some kind of chemical make up that actually help kill cancer cells, sugar does the opposite. She has decided to give up almost all things with added sugar, but I know that I will not be able to. I’m only twenty and am not ready to give up ice cream and chai tea lattes for good! But until the end of the my time in Berlin, this is going to be my goal.

As for today’s eats:

Watermelon for breakfast.

Iced Coffee (good thing I like my coffee without sugar anyways!) and this sandwich with lettuce and tomatoes for lunch:

And for dinner I was really excited because I had seen so many bloggies making wraps and I was craving one! So I got some, multigrain wraps, guacamole, tomatoes, cucumbers, some lettuce, and a red bell pepper to make it with! I was actually on a mission to find hummus, but I couldn’t! So the guac had to do!

In theory it could have been good! But sadly the guac wasn’t good. It’s better when my mom makes it! Guess I have to wait until I get home!

But I did have this funny peach for dessert, and it was soooo good!!! Perfect to wash away the taste of the weird guacamole…

And now it just started to storm! I love falling asleep to summer thunderstorms! One of my best friends from my childhood lives down the street from me at home, and when we are both “The Lane” in the summer we go running when it’s raining. It feels so good!

7 responses to “New Goal

  1. SUCH a great goal! I made this goal and epically failed after one day. I feel like I could give up sweets for a time, but it’s the artificial sweeteners that get me. I know it’s so bad, but I love to add splenda to my coffee in the mornings.

    Good luck! You can totally do this. 🙂

  2. I couldn’t go for coffee without sugar. This would be such a challenge for me, but I definitely think it’s an awesome goal. Best of luck!!

    Also, your blog has received the Sunshine Award. Stop by my blog to pick it up 🙂 Congrats!

  3. I love my sugar, so I admire you for taking on this challenge. I’ve been feeling sluggish, though, from too many sweets, so I may join you on this. =P

  4. Have you tried Truvia? I live off of it!

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  5. I’ve nixed artificial sweeteners too! YAY! Well, I still use Truvia in my oatmeal. Does that count? Haha and I like my iced coffee sugarless too.. I’m drinking some right now!

  6. carascravings

    That’s a great goal.
    I try to limit my sugar consumption a bit during the week and treat my self more on the weekends…I am a girl of moderation though…I can’t go too long without and ice cream 🙂

  7. Wow, that’s a great goal! Good for you! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

    I’m sorry that your guac wasn’t good…I hate it when a wrap that you are excited about turns out to be not so great!

Leave a Reply

