Who says you can’t have a Wednesday Brunch?!

So two days ago, when Monique wrote about her Sunday Brunch, I couldn’t help but be insanely jealous. I mean, who doesn’t love a good sunday brunch? Well, although it’s not Sunday, today I had Wednesday Brunch! My mom and grandmother invited me to go their hotel for breakfast. It was sooo good. There was a bunch of organic food, which I really liked as well! As you can see, I stuffed myself.

First, mango and pineapple with a side of watermelons and grapefruit! And of course with my bircher muesli.

And apparently I was in a fishy mood. Herring salad, little shrimp whose name I don’t know in English (what can I say, sometimes things get jumbled in my brain!), smoked salmon, and look at that little pancake in the middle! How perfectly sized is that!? I could just put it in my mouth! I may or may not have had two or three more of those…

Needless to say, I was filled and didn’t need any lunch today! My godmother joined my mom, grandmother, and me and we went to a lake on the outskirts of Berlin to see one of the castles of Queen Louise, wife of Kaiser Friedrich III. It was so pretty there! The island the castle is on is called Pfauen Insel, or Peacock Island!

My grandmother, me, and my godmother on the boat ride over!

This castle is really special because nothing in it was destroyed during the war, and everything is original! It was one of those castles the royal family built just for fun. You know, in case they had the time to frequent it for a few weeks once a year or so… what a hard life! And what a view!

Because the floors in the castle are so valuable, we had to wear these. Very fashionable!

And how could I not take a picture of what the island was named for:

I tried to coax him to spread his feathers, but alas, he would not listen to me…

Oh and I just realized I lied earlier. I was starving when we got back, so I snuck two Allos bars. But no worries, I was hungry again for dinner!

My godmother invited us to her apartment for dindin. Once again, just like her studio, it is gorgeous. She has such good taste, and because she restores paintings and has connections to art people she even has three lithographs by Georges Braque! And she is a wonderful cook. We had catfish with a variety for vegetables (bell peppers, broccoli, beans, water chestnuts, zucchini, carrots) and a salad! Delicious! I helped her prepare, and we cooked the fish with just salt, pepper, and some lemon juice. Then we added the vegetables into the pan and let it all cook together. It was extra healthy since my mom was there. For desert we had fruit salad. Perfect on a warm summers night. And look at how wonderfully she arranges her spices. I love those little containers!

Her apartment overlooks a school, and while we were eating dinner there was a choir practicing some classical music, and it was just the perfect setting!

Seriously, once I permanently move somewhere I am going back to her apartment and copying her kitchen. It was so creatively decorated! Have you ever been in someone’s house and kind of wished it was yours?

I hope you enjoy the rest of your Wednesday, and good night!

10 responses to “Who says you can’t have a Wednesday Brunch?!

  1. Monique@She's Going The Distance

    Yaaay brunch!! I love it πŸ™‚

    And dude, I totally get the feeling about confusing yourself amongst several languages! When I was living in France, I’d forget English translations. Weird huh?? Now that I’m back here, the French translations are escaping me πŸ˜‰

  2. ouimarshmallow

    I love brunch! I definitely don’t eat it often enough.

    And I have never been in someone’s house and wished it was mine, but I do watch HGTV all the time and see many houses and decorations that I am pretty sure I NEED when we buy a house.

  3. carascravings

    Hey.
    My husband and I are teaching English in Korea, this is our second year doing it. We absolutely love the country. It is such a sweet job. It is an excellent way to pay off any student loans, as the schools pay for you living, flights etc.
    It’s quite an easy lifestyle for the amount of money we make…I would recommend it to anyone.

  4. I love brunch…it doesn’t matter what day it is!! πŸ™‚

    I love, love, love the spices in those containers…I want a shelf like that! And…that view. Wow is all that I can say!

  5. Aww remember our Sunday brunch? SO GOOD!! That peacock is so pretty… and so are the slippers. haha love youu!

  6. What a great day! I am a HUGE brunch fan. My husband and I go every weekend. Glad you enjoyed. Fresh fruit is the best πŸ™‚

  7. Brunch really is the best meal! Anything goes – sweet, savory, fruit, veggies – yum! What a lovely day!

    I feel like I have the worst decorating skills. I’m always envious of people with cool, chic places!

  8. I am a huge fan of brunch… no matter what day it is! All those spices… I am totally jealous I wish my shelf looked like that!

    xo

  9. Brunch with the family is the best. πŸ˜€

    That castle is so cool!

    My fella has a friend with the most amazing, modern house. While I typically lean toward cozy and rustic, I did have a bit of house-envy when I visited. Hehe.

  10. I am always envious of other people’s homes because I lack a sense of style so mine is pretty bare haha.

Leave a Reply

