AP Bio, again?!

Okay, so you know how when you are done with high school and get all of your AP exams done, you get lots of credits upon your arrival in college and get to never take classes such as Math and Science ever again? Let’s just say I did a little celebration dance after I got my results back and realized that I had done well enough to be through with certain subjects forever. And things were running smoothly and I was cruising along through college, when I got a lovely e-mail from my academic advisor: “Dear Vicky, We are sorry to say that your IB Bio exam could not be counted as a credit for Chapel Hill. You will have to take another science with a lab.” I have been in college two years, and they couldn’t tell me that sooner ?! (IB = International Baccalaureate, basically the same thing as AP but is recognized internationally. Did anyone else go the the agony of this program?) So, now my kind mother, who is currently visiting (more on that later) has brought me my old AP Bio book so that I can study to take a test that may get me out of having to take a science next semester. I actually liked Bio, but enough is enough! And how’s that for two weeks left of this semester and right back to studying?!

Other than that my day was wonderful! It started out with overnight oats, of course.

And this juice. Best juice ever. Seriously the US needs to think about importing this or something. It’s multivitamin juice, and I live for this stuff when I am in Germany! It reminds me of my childhood, so maybe there’s a little nostalgia mixed in there, but it’s delicious!

After class I met my mom and grandmother (VEV = very excited Vicky) who came into town! Ishowed them around my university and then brought them back to see my apartment.

Then came dinner.

Look at this awesome restaurant! I was a horrible blogger and forgot my camera, but I tried to take cell phone pics for you!

And the view was on the Gendarmenmarkt! Beautiful.

For dinner I had herring tatar, which was heavenly. It came with “roesti” or potatoes, and cucumber salad. The herring tatar is that almost not visible little grey blob. Small but tastey!

My mom had the scampi salad with little balls of watermelon and ginger mixed in with the salad, which was also superb and looked so pretty! We also shared a portion of chanterelles!

While my mom doesn’t drink because ever since she had my sister and me she gets migraines from alcohol (how much does that suck!? The question is, should I be drinking my wine guilt-free?!), my grandmother and I enjoyed a glass of white wine.

And look at these fun champagne bottles I spotted along the walls! The middle one is dedicated to the World Cup that was in Germany in 2006! How fitting!

What do you love to do when you see your family again after a while?!

That’s all folks! It’s past my bedtime! I have to be fit to give my fam a tour of Berlin tomorrow! Good Night!

5 responses to “AP Bio, again?!

  1. Ew lab science. A chemistry lab (yes 101) literally brought me to tears in college. Clearly, not my strong point. 🙂 Good luck with it!

  2. Oh no, major bummer about having to take Bio again! Believe it or not, my high school didn’t offer it, so I’m going to have to take Biology probably sometime in the winter semester. I dread it.

    That restaurant looks wonderful! When my family comes to visit, we generally sit around, play cards, and joke about how terrible we were to each other when we were younger. 😀

  3. Man, that sucks!! I was so glad when I got credit from AP Stat and then tested out of freshmen math…I haven’t taken a math class in 2 years! Sadly I had to take both sciences, but whatever. I can’t believe they waited so long to tell you…bleh!

    At least you had some tasty food to ease your biology sorrows, haha 🙂

  4. That’s so crazy about the bio!! How frustrating! I took ap bio too but I’m pretty sure I’d cry if I had to do it over. And I can’t believe you ruined wine for your mom.. tsk tsk.. haha but your dinner looks so fun and fancy!

  5. Monique@She's Going The Distance

    Boooo for not getting credit!! I had to take one math/science exam when I was in college, so I fudged my way around it 😉 I ended up taking intro to astronomy and looooooved it!!!

Leave a Reply

