Copenhagen, here I come!

Photo: Nyhaven in Copenhagen, Denmark

I love traveling, if I haven’t mentioned that before. Places I still want to go? India, Japan, Czech Republic, Brazil, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Alaska, Thailand, Cuba, Morocco…

But for now, I will leave it at Copenhagen. I had been to Denmark once before on a sailing trip in the summer between seventh and eighth grade. I was the only girl with 19 boys. (As a seventh grader I found that slightly intimidating at first, but changing, sleeping, and living on a small boat with that many boys turned out to be a blast. Maybe I could get a repeat of that these days?) This time I went with three friends that I met in Berlin (but who are all American) for a quick weekend excursion. Good thing about Europe? Cheap airplane tickets!

We watched the England vs. USA game in an Irish Pub that was filled with English fans, and after chanting “USA! USA! USA!” were relieved when we “scored” (look at a video clip and you will understand the quotations). Afterwards we went to a club called IN, which was three clubs in one and advertised free beer, wine, and champagne. However, there should have been fine print that included: “the champagne does not come from France but is rather a very cheap, sweet alcohol that gives you stomach aches and has to be mixed with a cherry flavored drink in order to taste semi-okay.” Needless to say, we did not drink too many drinks, and since Denmark is so insanely expensive, we decided to buy one shot and leave it at that. But who says you have to drink to have a good time? We danced like it was our job! I was ready to take off my heels by the time we got home! And since my voice, after a few days back, still wasn’t back not completely recovered, I think that is a sign that the weekend was a success!  In case you are planning a trip or Copenhagen, I have also heard that the Australian Bar (A-Bar) is very fun, but you can just walk along the Stroget, the main Pedestrian and shopping street, and you will find a place to go! Have you ever been to Copenhagen? Do you recommend a bar or club?

I’m not quite sure why I decided to point to the sky… 😀

Certain parts of Copenhagen look like a movie set. The houses are so quaint and colorful, that I thought they may be fake, like a big backdrop set up for tourists. And what is cooler than a city that has an amusement park, in the middle of its center? The Tivoli Gardens are definitely worth looking at, as is the changing of the guards at the Amalienborg Castle and the Nationalmuseet(National Museum) for some history. (I saw some artifacts I learned about in Art History, which was exciting!) And the Little Mermaid, the icon of the city, is of course alway a must, but unfortunately it is “on tour” and currently somewhere in Asia.

I have heard you can also take tours of a Danish brewery, which, if possible, I would recommend because the Danish Carlsberg beer is good! And that means a lot coming from a not-so-enthusiastic beer drinker! (Yes, I know as a German that is almost insulting to my fellow Germans…) But another must if you are in Denmark is to try Somersby, a type of Danish Cider, that is tasty and refreshing. My favorite flavor was Elderberry, although it was also available in Apple, Pear, and Cranberry.

And if I still haven’t convinced you, then I will just quickly mention how friendly the Danes are. And good looking.

Happy Travels!

PS If you really are going, check out the Southern Cross Hostel. It was amazing! Definitely worth every cent.

4 responses to “Copenhagen, here I come!

  1. What a cool trip! Glad you’re taking advantage of your study abroad and really exploring! Can’t wait to read more 🙂

  2. I just came across your blog. Good post about Copenhagen 🙂

  3. I almost did a double take when I saw your pictures of copenhagen. I have very similar ones from when I was there. I stayed with a family in Soro about 5 years ago. I love that part of Europe!

Leave a Reply

