Anti-Cancer Cooking: Leading a Healthy Life

Happy Saturday!

There are definitely some happy people in Berlin today. It is the day of the infamous Love Parade. As I am sitting here in my little cafe, my whole body is pounding from the beat that is coming from the floats outside. It is definitely crazy. I see people dressed as almost naked angels with huge white wings, nuns, and just about everything you could possibly imagine begin at a Love Parade.

So, since I am still at the beginning of my blogging life, I am trying to figure out what all I want to explore here! So obviously, as you guys have noticed, I am currently pumped with World Cup fever (no worries, only 3 more weeks!), and I since I am abroad, my travel experiences will also creep into my daily posting. But I have also decided to include recipes and food tips, maybe not as detailed as those blogs (that I am a HUGE fan of) dedicated mostly to finding delicious and healthy meals, but I do want to keep track of my diet and exercise to live a healthy life!

My family has always been pretty healthy, thanks to my mom’s wonderful cooking skills. And the benefits of a family that loves to travel is that I was introduced to foreign foods relatively early, cultivating my taste buds to like almost anything! But there is one tiny problem. When I was a kid, we never had sweets in the house, because 1) my mom wanted us to be healthy or 2) they were hidden somewhere because if kept out in the open, they would be gone as soon as my dad came home from work. So needless to say, the lack of sweets caused me to develop a love for chocolate, cookies, and other unhealthy snacks. I never ate them en mass, but it was always nice when I started going to the grocery store on my own and could buy a batch of cookies to bake.

Last September my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer, and since then she has made it her resolution to eat even healthier.  She uses Cooking with Foods That Fight Cancer and Foods to Fight Cancer: Essential foods to help prevent cancer, both by Richard Beliveau and Denis Gingras, and Anti Cancer: A new way of life, by David Servan-Schreiber to concoct most of her meals now. Not only are the recipes delicious (at least the ones I’ve tried in the short periods that I have been home) but I feel less stuffed and feel like I have good digestion (sorry for that, but let’s face it, it’s important!). My mom has chemo, surgery, and radiation behind her, and is doing well!

Whenever I stumble across a healthy or tasty recipe, I want to share it with you guys! Since I am traveling now, and don’t always have all of the utensils I need to cook all the meals I want to, I will probably start doing this more when I get back to the US in August. But until then I will share what I can!

image

And on that note, I am off for a run! (even if it is only a ten minute run…)

Peace out!

One response to “Anti-Cancer Cooking: Leading a Healthy Life

  1. Aw Vicky I had no idea about your mom! I was wondering why you had that cookbook when you mentioned it but I forgot to ask! I hope she’s doing well now. Also you should def join the healthy living/eating/exercising bloggie community; it’s a fun one! Love you 🙂

Leave a Reply

