Welcome to the Fair!

Until Sunday night, I had never been on a ferris wheel before. I know, crazy.

But those days are over! As my friend so nicely stated: My ferris wheel cherry has been popped!

I must say, the fair was quite an experience, and here is what I learned for next year:

Eat BEFORE I go or bring a snack. Not the ideal place for a vegetarian. Or for dessert. While it was fun watching my friends eat fried Oreos and fried Snickers bars, I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. There was also fried macaroni and cheese, fried peach cobbler, fried Reese’s PB Cups, fried anything you can think of, probably.

The desserts were among many strange things that you can witness at the fair, which many of you who have been to state fairs probably know. Not only is it a superb place for people watching, but also for seeing strange animals. I didn’t actually go into these exhibits, but someone please tell me: is it really possible for there to be a cyclops-pig with a trunk on it’s forehead, a two-bodied dog, a six legged cow, a miniature cow, a zonkey (zebra and donkey mix, duh), and a miniature pony (and by that I mean as big as a bowling pin, which is what they claimed in their advertising)? I don’t think I believe it, but if one of you guys has witnessed something like this, by all means tell me! I’m dying to figure out the truth!

We ended the fair with a pretty amazing fireworks show. It went on for about 15 minutes!¬†What is your favorite thing to do at the fair? I liked the ferris wheel, it’s clich√© but true, and I also really liked the swings that take you up in the air and spin you around!

Yesterday I finished my loaf of pumpkin bread. That means I ate it (with some help, but not a lot) in a week. I feel like I need to practice self-control, but it’s just so good!

In other news, I’m HOME for FALL BREAK! Is anyone else taking some kind of a trip soon? I love trips! (Even if they are just to go home!) And I will have fun home pics and updates soon!

5 responses to “Welcome to the Fair!

  1. Hooray for being home for fall break! Enjoy every minute. We’re going to Disney World somewhat soon and I cannot wait. Ah the Fair- such a strange place! I haven’t been to one in ages. I like when they have produce and baking contests

  2. I haven’t been to a fair in years. All that fried, fatty food makes me kind of ill thinking about it. And to see people walking around with giant turkey legs, ugh. Hope you have a great break. I am looking forward to heading to Seattle at the end of next week.

  3. Brad and I went to the fair yesterday and I found a baked sweet potato and local honey! SO GOOD. We also tried apple cider! Hope you’re enjoying the QC and cannot waitttt for our house tour next wek =D

  4. the fair is a once a year thing at most, right, so i always make the most of it with a HUGE corn dog and funnel cake. and i may or may not share it with anyone. yup, no shame.

  5. Living in NYC I don’t get to go to fairs! But deep fried anything is scary! The only travel plans I have is going to Mass for a few days in December.

Leave a Reply

