Cocktails, Birthdays, and 5ks

First things first.

You should all know about a really important event in my life called Midnight Moonshine. It is a cocktail. And by cocktail I don’t mean fancy short dress, pretty hair, and high heels. This is a special type of cocktail with a Country theme. So replace the fancy dress with a camo (and or plaid) shirt and denim shorts, the pretty curls with a cowboy hat, and the high heels with some cowboy boots.

Needing some R&R after a long night out (you will come to know that I am often a grandma and like getting to bed on time!) and after a busy week, I continued the weekend in the following fashion:

Friday – Do Nothing Day [aka lounging around, riding my bike, eating pumpkin bread, and watching The Holiday (I LOVE THIS MOVIEā€”I promise when I finally get over having long hair I am going to cut it like Cameron Diaz's is in this movie. Also, I don' think there is anything cuter than Jude Law in this film.)]

Saturday – Brunch with my friend from high school! We had pumpkin bread (obviously), fresh fruit (kiwis, mango, strawbs, blubes, and raspberries), and she made french toast. I am ashamed to admit that I have spent most of my life without eating french toast, and was quite surprised! I don’t think I would like it if there was a bunch of sugar on top, or if she had put maple syrup on top, but she made hers really well and so it was quite enjoyable with some berries on top! Afterwards I went to read LADY AUDLEY’S SECRET by Mary Elizabeth Braddon at Caribou for my 19th Century British Lit Class. I really like it so far, plus Caribou was having a 50% off day for anyone wearing pink for Breast Cancer Awareness Month! So my small skim latte was only $1 and a few cents! And finally, I ended the day by going to my friend’s 22nd birthday bash.

Sunday (so far) – I ran the Heels4Hope 5k this morning! Okay, I walked and ran a 5k this morning. It was perfect, because I got to chat with my friend Megan who was doing it with me! There is another 5k in November that I am planning on running, but this morning it just wasn’t happening.

The race started at UNC’s famous Bell Tower. Look at that Carolina Blue Sky!

We followed our accomplished ‘run’ with a stop at Starbucks. And look at all the goodies I got after the race!

I’ve never been a huge fan of protein bars for some reason, but I am going to try them. And I got some Fuel cereal, which I’ve never seen before, some face wash (random…), and some Dole Real Fruit Bites! There was also some fruit out for runners (and walkers) after the race!

Tonight I’m going to the North Carolina State Fair! I’m very excited!

Enjoy the rest of your weekends!

8 responses to “Cocktails, Birthdays, and 5ks

  1. yayy for midmoon! i enjoyed this post! that photo of you at the end is super cute. i had so much fun hanging out today!

  2. Dear Vicky!!

    Your blog is amazing… i would read it if it were a book :)… plus like “THE PICTURE” haha xoxo –> good choice

  3. I want more excuses to dress up :) That sounds super fun!

  4. the holiday is the best! such a wonderful movie. i feel strangely empowered and hopeful after i watch it :)

  5. Sounds like a great weekend to me!

  6. I always steal lots of fruit after races :) Glad you had such a nice weekend. Brunch is my favorite meal (as you know). French toast is great. I always forget how delicious it is. I’m the same way though- I like it simply topped.

  7. CONGRATS ON THE RACE!! haha i loved the bananas and oranges they had here at ours too. ur so pretty <3 i love that pic of you.
    enjoy the state fair lucky duck!
    i could totally go for a cowgirl get-up with heels right about now haha. that would be so fun!! <3

  8. Oooh I’m having a sick day and you just inspired me to watch the Holiday! I love it too :) thanks! Well done on the race!
    Heidi xo

Leave a Reply

